Kick the Habit!

I first saw Freely Be’s “Kick the Habit” over at Gracie’s blog and I thought it was such a great idea. I didn’t have a blog then, so I’m joining in…half a month late. Yeah, whatever, don’t judge me. Anyways, I have tons of habits that need a firm kick in the ass, but since it’s August and I start school in September (gulp), I figured I would kick one that’s pertinent to that. I go to bed at, oh on average, 2am. Sometimes 1am. Sometimes 3am. And last night I went to bed at almost 5am. Yeah, it’s a problem, since I’ll have to get up between 7 and 8am starting September 6 and 2-3 hours of sleep does not a happy Kat make. So, my goal for the month (and hopefully past that) is to be in bed by the incredibly early and unrealistic time of…12am. I’ll be like Cinderella; the clock strikes midnight and I’m out of the ball and into my bed.

And now, so that I don’t fail miserably at that goal, I’m going to go tackle my to-do list, which, among many other things includes a run, a leg workout and tackling the mess that my room has become.

Cheers!

10 thoughts on “Kick the Habit!

  1. Haha! That’s actually a really smart habit to make :) I’m one of those people who needs 8 hrs of sleep so I def make it a priority to get that. Miraculously I don’t get sick much anymore and I’m less grumpy in the day. Weird . . .

    • Yeah, I figure college is the time to start making those smart habits and being all, you know, adult and stuff. Blech.
      I actually don’t get sick all that much – miraculously enough – but I feel you on the grumpiness. You don’t want to get between me and and my cup(s) of coffee in the morning. It won’t end well ;)

  2. I’ve been trying to kick the wake up late habit too. I’m a teacher, so I have to be at school by 7:30 (up by 5 to workout) in 2 weeks. Lately, I’ve been waking up at 7:00 and hanging around before I do anything, but at least it won’t be a total body shock to get up earlier. I’m happy to see that I’m not the only one!

    • Yeah, I’ve been looking at my class schedule at it looks like there might be a couple 5am wakeup times for me too…that or 11:30pm workout sessions like last night.

    • Yeah, something tells me this challenge will only get harder come September. At least my campus has a (cheap) coffee place. And we have a pub so I can get an early start to my night. I figure if I start drinking at 3pm I should be done by midnight ;)

  3. Good goal! I’m the total opposite when it comes to going to bed- I’m ALWAYS in bed by 10:30! I need my full 8 hours of sleep or I am not a happy camper the next day. :P I did a leg workout this morning too and my legs haven’t stopped shaking since.

    • I actually got that leg workout in…at 11:30pm. I was dreading it – I haven’t been into strength training lately – but it actually wasn’t too bad.

Leave a comment