No More Running

Not for the next couple of weeks at least. I went to my physio on Friday and while I was there I mentioned that a tiny little spot on my shin hurts like crazy when I touch it. He took a look, poked around and said that while he doesn’t think it’s quite a stress fracture, one more run will turn it into one for sure. That, combined with the fact that I could barely do an assisted squat without my right knee giving out on me led him to tell me that I should take at least the week off of running.

I’m pretty upset – I have a half marathon in about a month – but at the same time I can’t say I’m horribly surprised. I’ve been nursing multiple aches and pains for months now, and I haven’t had a pain free run in months. So really, I suppose I should have seen it coming. But I was stubborn and thought I could make it another month, run the half and then take a break. Dumb and cocky? Yeah. But hindsight is 20/20 and all that.

On the bright side, my physio did say that he’s completely fine with me cycling, as long as I roll the heck out of my IT band afterwards. So the plan is to spend maybe seven hours a week or so on my bike. If my knee starts hurting, I’ll have to switch over to the elliptical, which I really don’t want to do, but I suppose it’s time to (wo)man up and be an adult and all that. I want to keep up as much endurance and leg strength as I can, so that my return to running isn’t too bad

No workout summary this time, there was one hot and painful 5 mile run but that’s been it.

So yeah. I suppose this one goes into the ever growing “I’m not invincible” pile.

Leave a Reply

