Ow

Remember how I was soooooooooooooo excited that I managed to run 4 miles without stopping?

Yeah well my feet were less than excited. My left arch hurt like a bitch all day afterwards, even though I iced and stretched it. It’s kind of a jerk.

It’s a little better now, and I’m hoping that it’ll be okay enough for me to run 3 miles tomorrow. 3 miles that will definitely be run on trails or grass rather than concrete. Or maybe on the treadmill. Puke. Or the indoor track. Speedwork with a sore arch and an injured ankle is a  brilliant idea.

But hey, it’s the end of the week, so how did I do workout-wise?

  • Monday – 3 mile run, foam roll
  • Tuesday – upper body strength
  • Wednesday – 3 mile run, foam roll
  • Thursday – 3 mile run, upper body strength REST
  • Friday – rest 2 mile run
  • Saturday – 4 mile run, foam roll, upper body strength
  • Sunday – rest
  • TOTAL:
    • run: 12 miles
    • upper body: 2

So not quite, as I’d like to have gotten in an extra upper body workout since mine are so short (15 minutes). BUT I am impressed that I got in as much foam rolling as I did, since I foam rolled after every run. Definitely need to keep that that.

And now goals for next week:

  • Monday – 3 mile run, lower body
  • Tuesday – upper body
  • Wednesday – 3 mile run
  • Thursday – 3 mile run, lower body, upper body
  • Friday – beginner yoga (hopefully!)
  • Saturday – 5 mile run, upper body
  • Sunday – rest

As much as I love pounding the pavement around town, I’m going to try to get most of those runs – especially the 5 miler – done on trails or grass so that I don’t hurt my arch more. I’m a little sad, because while I am lucky enough to have riverside trails, my town – unlike me –  is rich. Gorgeous houses worth over a million dollars that I get to lust over during my run. Gorgeous houses that I’ll never be abe to afford. Sniff. I’ll miss them.

Oh and on a sidenote, before you go thinking that I live in this pristine little rich person city, take a look at what was beside my bus stop this morning:

I don’t think that’s how it works…

Why yes, that is a chair on the garbage can. It’s been there for a couple of days now. Something tells me whoever did that didn’t really think their idea through.

Leave a Reply

