Windy and in pain

So I didn’t run today.

My reasons? Winds gusts outside definitely didn’t help. Running is hard enough without being blown backwards. Plus I ran yesterday. 3 miles @8:51 per mile. Meh

But I have another reason.

A couple weeks ago, I went to Europe on a family vacation. Europe was AMAZING. All the cobblestones? Yeah not so much. I’m pretty sure I rolled my ankle at least ten times and hour while we where there.

Pretty canal.

The ankle deathtrap of evil. And a nice horsie.

So yeah. My ankle’s been complaining ever since.

Unfortunately for it, I have a race coming up. Soon, in fact.

The Starbucks Run for Women Vancouver 10K. Yep. June 9. At this point, my longest run was a 3.5 miler before vacation. Before my ankle decided it wasn’t a fan.

So with that in mind, here’s (hopefully!) this weeks training plan:

  • Monday – 3 mile run, foam roll
  • Tuesday – upper body strength
  • Wednesday – 3 mile run, foam roll
  • Thursday – 3 mile run, upper body strength
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday – 4 mile run, foam roll, upper body strength
  • Sunday – rest

Totally dependent on me actually being able to run without too much pain. Cooperate ankle, cooperate.

My other issue? Lateral knee pain on my right knee. I iced it last night, but frankly, it’s just the same today. I have a history of knee pain, so I’m REALLY hoping this doesn’t get too bad.

Not being able to run or do lower body strength is no reason to slack however.

Courtesy of my whiteboard.

 

BAM. And yes, I’m a wimp because those were knee pushups – can’t do real ones with my ankle – and the weights for the flies and bicep curls were 5lbs. Yeah. I know. My former gymnast and basketball player self is ashamed.

Now off to shower, do my hair and paint my toenails. Because the last time those got a fresh coat of paint was, oh, last year. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

