Books: January 2012

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to read 36 books over the course of 2012. Basically, 3 books a month.

So, how’d I do in January?

Eh, okay? I only read two full books and ended the month about 1/3 through the thrid one. Now in my defense, I spent a (not so) good week near the end sick and then spent the last few days feverishly catching up on school work – still not caught up, but that’s a rant for another day.

(1) The Scorch Trials; James Dashner

Image

This is the second book in The Maze Runner trilogy, I read the first one in 2011. If you’ve read The Hunger Games trilogy, this is a lot like it. Similar dystopian world, with a group of young people who need to overcome huge challenges.

(2) The Death Cure; James Dashner

 Image

This was the third and final book in The Maze Runner trilogy. Same opinion as the other book, a nice, quick read and worth your time if you enjoy this genre. The whole trilogy howver is definitely meant for a slightly younger audience than The Hunger Games, so do keep that in mind.

Images are via Google, I read the books on my eReader – so no nice pretty covers – and have long since returned them anyways.

The book I’m reading right now is Tess of the D’Urbervilles, because in between the easy, YA fiction like the two books above, I want to read a couple classics as well. I’m now 51% of the way through it, and I’ll hopefully pop up a quick review within a week.

TELL ME: Do you like to read? Have you ever set yourself a goal of a certain number of books per year to read?

Leave a Reply

