What a day.

Wow. Today was beyond insane.

But I’ll get to that in a second. First, let’s see how me and my to do list did.

  • homework – INSANE student council meeting. Just insane, so I didn’t end up finishing the journal entries though I did get started and I read a chapter. The videos are up on YouTube, with no issues. I was a bit worried since I’ve heard horror stories about stuff taking super long to upload.
  • schedule an appointment with an advisor – nope. I’ll either drop by or call tomorrow during my break.
  • yoga – About to! I just got home, devoured some sushi and chocolate, and am going to let that digest for a bit before I get into uncomfortable positions. Not quite sure which routine I’m going to do yet.
  • student loan applications – I did my bit! Now I just have to get my dad to fill out his section and then I can send it off.
  • get to be by 1am – hopefully! It’s not even 10pm yet, so I still have plenty of time to not fail at this.
  • shower – After yoga. I need one soooooo bad.
  • pick up my cheque – Again, tomorrow during break.

Now onto the insanity. The student association (SA) at my school has been corrupt for years. They switch up bylaws without asking and spend our money on whatever they please. So, today, it was time to oust them. Democratically of course.

The meeting was at 2pm. At first, it went fine. We registered to vote, and sat down in the auditorium. And that’s when the fun started.

About 10 minutes into the meeting, a fire alarm rang. There was no fire. There was no suspicion of fire. It was just the SA members who were about to kicked out trying to stop the voting. So we all filed outside, waited around for close to an hour while the firefighters inspected everything. Then we got back inside.

Then, just as we were about to vote, guess what? Another fire alarm. And then some pepper spray. That stuff is fun, by the way, I can still feel it in my mouth and throat.

Finally, after cops and firefighters figured crap out and the pepper spray cleared, we got back inside to vote. And vote we did. Every single corrupt member of the SA was kicked out and we made plans to elect new ones.

I’m actually pretty proud of my uni, usually they’re so apathetic – which is how this went on for so long – but this time around people did a good job of getting the word out and the auditorium was PACKED.

So, so proud. And maybe now we’ll even start seeing the fruits of all the fees we pay. Maybe.

So that’s everything. Whew. I’m tired just writing that out. Now I’m going to search up a yoga routine, do it, take a shower and then maybe work on my sociology stuff. And hopefully get to bed by 1am.

TELL ME: Has anything dramatic like that ever happened at your university? Have you ever witnessed or taken part in a protest like this?

Leave a Reply

