…3 months later

I’m back! Yeah, I’m not really too sure what happened with this blog, besides the obvious bit about me not blogging and all. School has been absolutely insane, but that’s really no excuse, I still could have posted. So yeah, my bad.

Anyways, I’m back, with a new theme and I’ll be adding a few pages and features over the next couple of weeks. It might take a bit, since these my last two weeks of classes, then it’s exams and then I get three weeks off! SO psyched, not even funny. Now onto my day.

Apart from taking a break from blogging, I also took a break from working out. One week turned into two weeks, which turned into two months, and then three…bad Kat, bad.

So this Sunday I decided to get back on the whole make-my-muscles-hurt bandwagon and damn did I get back on. I strength trained yesterday, doing a quickie little workout because I was short on time. I didn’t think it’d do much, but I figure it was better than nothing.

Judging by how sore I am, I’m thinking this workout should be a fairly regular thing for me from now on, at least until I get some muscle back. I’ll post the workout on Thursday when I do it again.

Then, because I’m training for an 8K at the end of January as the first step for the 1/2 marathon I’m running in May (I haven’t decided which one, but there are two in May and I’m definitely doing one), I went out for a 2 mile run today.

I haven’t run in months, so I didn’t have high expectations for my run today. My only goals were under 10 mins/mile and to run the whole time And not get blisters from my new running shoes, though that might not have been up to me. Photos and info on the shoes will be up on Thursday again, since that’s my next run.

I ended up running the 2 miles at 9:16 min/mile and I ran the whole time, even though at times I was going pretty slow. My legs are sore as anything from the strength training yesterday, so that probably didn’t help, though my biggest problem is definitely the breathing and the side stitches.

Then, because I could barely walk afterwards, I had a hot date with my foam roller.

 We had fun.

Lets not even talk how much that hurt. I also stretched, which was depressing since I used to be a gymnast as a kid and now…yeah, I should get on the whole stretching thing.

This post has now reached book length, so I’m going to sign off here and hopefully get to bed before 2am tonight.

QUESTION: Have you ever taken a long break from fitness and then jumped onto the bandwagon again? How did it go?

Leave a Reply

